top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily Li

Design Process Poster 1

Updated: Apr 9, 2020


The Haiku that I use to inspire my posters was:


Face showing nothing.

The soul crying silent tears.

Black shade in the heart.

(by Jackie Lovey)


The process



I started to sketch for this poster by exploring different themes in my haiku poem and what they might look like when represented in black and white, and geometric. By using the colour distribution of black and white, it highlighted the occupied space (black) and the free space (white).




I then chose the idea of 'contrast' as the inspiration behind my design and created 2 concepts that focused on both composition and the brief.












I then chose a final design and explored the colour requirements. My Haiku talked about the feel of depression and sadness that behind the mask, and I explored this through the hand drawn geometric style such as triangle and circle. At this step I have asked for the different opinions of my friends and family.









I decided on the white background to put contrast on the positive space and avoid a clash of colours.


















10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page