top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily Li

Fabrication Lab Experimentations

Updated: Apr 9, 2020


The laser cutter is one of the most useful tools in modern society. It is an interesting and useful tool to utilise and operate in the fabrication lab. The laser cutter works by directing a very powerful laser beam, at a precise focal length, onto a material which they either cut or etch, depending on how the laser cutter has been set up. When laser cutters are set up to etch something on the surface of a material, they operate like a printer, by using their laser beam to etch an image onto something you have prepared.


It is no doubt that this tool could create plentiful amazing projects and ideas to inspire people while using them. Things such as laser cut clocks, monogrammed cork coasters, wood sculpture, laser cut jewelry(geometric earrings, chevron necklace) and kerf cut teeny lamp these creative projects brings a huge of joy and fun into our lives that may not be expected.


When experiencing laser cutter tool, I have created a keychain with it by creating my idea on Adobe Illustrator. Firstly, I have chosen a star shape and put it in a suitable size, followed by is to label my name on the centre position. By changing the lines in my work to red, blue or black, I could choose what areas I wanted to be cut, etched or engraved.


The process is extremely enjoyable and fun during the experimentations. Throughout the progress I found that laser cutter is a fast and efficient tool which helps people to discover those unexpected beauties effectively. I am excited to undergo large projects with the laser cutter.









#DES100 technical/tools, process


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page